Tenet Will Release Internationally in August Ahead of U.S. Debut

Tenet Will Release Internationally in August Ahead of U.S. Debut
July 28, 2020
David Gonzalez
Film News, Reel Movies, Reel Talk Inc

A week after Tenet was removed from the release calendar, Tenet has provided life to the summer blockbuster season, at least outside of the United States. Christopher Nolan’s upcoming film will debut internationally starting on August 26 before opening in select cities in North America over Labor Day weekend on September 3.

Warner Bros. announced Monday that Tenet is releasing at the end of August in 70 overseas territories, including Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Russia, and the United Kingdom. At this time, it’s unclear what parts of the U.S. will play the film.

As first reported by Variety, “Warner Bros. recently began telling exhibitors in Europe and Asia about plans for an Aug. 26-28 opening weekend. Strong ticket sales for “Train to Busan” sequel “Peninsula,” which has generated $21 million in Korea since July 15, was a sign of confidence to studios that patrons were ready to get out of the house and attend the movies.”

See Tenet’s global release plan below: 

Wednesday, Aug. 26:
Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Thursday, Aug. 27:
Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Israel, Lebanon, Malaysia, Middle East, New Zealand, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates

Friday, Aug. 28:
East Africa, Ghana, Nigeria, Norway, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Vietnam

Wednesday, Sept. 3:
The United States, Kuwait, and Qatar

Thursday, Sept. 10:
Azerbaijan, CIS Others, Kazakhstan, Russia

Thursday, Sept. 17:

Friday, Sept. 18:

Dates TBD:
Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Uruguay, Venezuela

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *